Astana 06:00
Geneva 02:00
New York 20:00

News

The Regional Conference “Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems: a preventive ban” was held in Nur-Sultan (Kazakhstan) on April 18-19th

The regional Conference “Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems: a preventive ban” was held in Nur-Sultan (Kazakhstan) on April 18-19th with the support of the Campaign to Stop Killer Robots. The Conference was attended by representatives of various government agencies and non-governmental organizations of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Moldova, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan.

 

In the course of the Conference, the participants discussed the state of the LAWS in their countries and at the UN platform and concluded that it is necessary to ban these weapons systems and maintain meaningful human control.

 

The Conference resulted in a communiqué, which emphasizes, in particular, the following agreements:

 

- to continue working on raising awareness of the population / experts / governments at the national level about the potential challenges and risks of LAWS;

- to continue the development of cooperation and the strengthening of the interaction of non-governmental organizations / think-tanks / academia of the region on the issue of LAWS and international security in general;

- to assist in the interaction and cooperation of the states of the region on the issue of LAWS on the platform of the Convention on Conventional Weapons with a view to developing and adopting an appropriate international legally binding instrument.

 

 

We are on Facebook